What to do in an emergency

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

​​​​​​​​

 Content Editor

Leaks, floods, power failures and fires are just a few of the property problems you might be faced with one day, and they can happen when you least expect them to. This handy guide looks at a few emergency situations and gives you essential tips on what to do before, during and after disaster strikes.

Be prepared

When an emergency happens, you need to act quickly to keep everyone safe and limit damage to your property. There are some simple precautions you can take to help prepare for the worst.

Take a few minutes to find out where the mains electrical fuse box and mains water stop tap are situated for your property, as you may need to turn off your supply in a hurry. It’s a good idea to keep a list of emergency numbers handy so you can react to water or electrical problems quickly: a licenced plumber, a qualified electrician, your doctor, ADDC’s emergency number. Next, prepare a small safety kit containing a simple flashlight and some basic first-aid equipment and keep it to hand; don’t forget to check the torch’s batteries from time to time. Also, play it safe by fitting smoke detectors in your home and make sure you have a valid insurance policy that covers flood and fire damage.

Network emergencies

As a general rule, if a crisis situation only affects your property, it’s usually up to you to deal with it. However, if an emergency affects the whole neighbourhood — like damaged network power lines, a problem with any ADDC property, large-scale flooding or an electricity outage along your street — it’s likely to be a network or equipment issue, so it’s our responsibility to put it right.

Our emergency line is always open to receive your calls, so if you see something that needs our attention dial 991 for Electricity and 992 for Water emergencies and report it immediately.

Take charge of electrical safety

If we are planning an interruption to your service we try to give you at least 2 days notice, but sometimes an unexpected electricity failure can happen. When your power goes off, see if your neighbours are having the same problem; if it’s just your property in the dark, check the main electricity trip switch and try turning it back on. If it trips again you may have an electrical fault in your home, so get it checked out by a qualified electrician.

Never attempt your own electrical repairs or maintenance work, leave it to the experts. A faulty electrical appliance or a wiring problem could cause a fire. If this happens, turn the power supply off immediately, either at the plug or the mains switch, or disconnect the dangerous appliance. Never throw water on an electrical fire, use a multi-purpose fire extinguisher where possible but if the blaze becomes serious get everyone out of danger immediately and call the civil defence on 997.

Any direct contact with your power supply can be life threatening, so if a friend or relative suffers an electric shock it’s important that you don’t touch them or you could be electrocuted too. Turn the power off immediately, either at the plug or the mains switch. If you can’t, use something insulated or wooden to break the victim’s contact with the live current, as the longer they’re being electrocuted the more danger they’re in. Always seek medical advice immediately in cases of shock, even when the victim seems unhurt.

Be water wise

If your property becomes flooded, you’ll need to turn off both your water and electricity supply at the mains. This will help to stop the flood and also keep water away from the electrics, which should help to prevent fires or shocks. Stay away from any wet or damp electrical fittings and call in the professionals to deal with the situation. After the excitement has died down, try to take pictures of any serious damage to show your insurance company.

The water we supply to you is treated and regularly tested for quality, so it’s safe to use and drink. Once the same water reaches your storage tank, however, it’s out of our control. Many households aren’t aware that debris and contaminants can build up in your property’s pipes and water tank, which can affect the quality of your water. To avoid discolouration and bacterial problems, you or your landlord needs to make sure the water tank and pipes are cleaned regularly and properly maintained.

*
*

ما يجب القيام به في حالة الطوارئ

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

​​​​​​​​

 محرر المحتوى

يعتبر التسريب في أنابيب المياه وانقطاع التيار الكهربائي والحرائق بعضاً من المشكلات التي قد تواجهها في العقار، ومن الممكن حدوثها حتى عندما لا تكون في الحسبان. يتناول هذا الدليل بعضاً من حالات الطوارئ ويقدم لك نصائح أساسية حول ما يجب القيام به قبل وأثناء وبعد وقوع حالة الطوارئ.

كن مستعداً للطوارئ

عندما تقع حالة طوارئ يجب عليك أن تتصرف بسرعة للحفاظ على سلامة الجميع والحدّ من الأضرار التي قد تلحق بعقارك. هناك بعض الاحتياطات البسيطة التي يمكنك اتخاذها للمساعدة في الاستعداد للأسوأ.

خذ وقتاً كافياً لتعرف مكان مفاتيح التحكم الرئيسية للكهرباء والآخر الخاص بالمياه لأنك قد تحتاج لقطع التوصيل عن عقارك وإيقافه على وجه السرعة. ومن المستحسن وضع قائمة بأرقام الطوارئ في متناول اليد حتى تتمكن من التصرف بسرعة عند وقوع طوارئ المياه والكهرباء: كرقم السباك والكهربائي والطبيب ورقم طوارئ شركة أبوظبي للتوزيع، وتجهيز حقيبة صغيرة للطوارئ تحتوي على مصباح يدوي وبعض معدات الإسعافات الأولية الأساسية وحفظها في مكان يسهل الوصول إليه. ولا تنسى فحص بطاريات المصباح اليدوي وتبديلها من وقت لآخر. كما يمكنك أن تحتاط للطوارئ عبر تركيب أجهزة كشف الدخان في منزلك، وتحرص على أن تكون بوليصة التأمين سارية المفعول وتغطي أضرار الفيضانات والحرائق.

طوارئ الشبكة

طوارئ الشبكة كقاعدة عامة، إذا كانت المشكلة في عقارك دون باقي جيرانك فإن إصلاحها عادة ما يكون على عاتقك أو على عاتق مالك العقار. أما إذا كان الضرر يؤثر على جميع جيرانك - مثل تلف شبكة خطوط الكهرباء، أو في حالة حدوث مشكلة ما في معدات شركة أبوظبي للتوزيع، أو حدوث تسريب كبير في المياه أو عطل كهربائي على طول الشارع - فمن المحتمل أن يكون العطل بسبب مشكلة في الشبكة أو المعدات، وعندها تكون أعمال الصيانة من مسؤوليتنا.

لدينا خط طوارئ مفتوح دائماً لتلقي مكالماتكم، فإن لاحظت أمراً يحتاج لتدخلنا اتصل على الرقم2332 800 للإبلاغ عن المشكلة فوراً، وسنرسل فريقاً للتحقيق وتشخيص المشكلة والتأكد من التعامل معها بأمان. الأمر المهم هو أن يتم إخطارنا بسرعة بالمشاكل التي تحدث كانقطاع التيار الكهربائي، والذي يمكن أن تكون آثاره خطيرة جداً على العملاء ذوي احتياجات الرعاية الصحية الخاصة الذين يحتاجون للطاقة على مدار الساعة من أجل عمل الأجهزة الحساسة أو المعدات الطبية الأخرى.

تولّى مسؤولية السلامة الكهربائية

عند وجود قطع مجدول للخدمة فإننا سنقوم بإشعارك قبل يومين من التاريخ المحدد لانقطاعها، ولكن يحدث في بعض الأحيان أن يطرأ عطل غير متوقع في الكهرباء. عند انقطاع الكهرباء عن عقارك تأكد من أن الانقطاع يشمل جيرانك أيضاً. وإذا لم يكن هذا الانقطاع يشمل الجيران فمن المرجح أن تكون المشكلة في عقارك فقط. تحقق من وضع مفاتيح التحكم الرئيسية للكهرباء وحاول التشغيل مرة أخرى. وفي حال لم يعود التيار الكهربائي قم بالاتصال بالفني المختص فوراً، فقد يكون هناك تماس كهربائي في منزلك.

لا تحاول أبداً إصلاح العطل أو القيام بأعمال الصيانة بنفسك، فإن أي خلل في أحد الأجهزة الكهربائية أو مشكلة في تمديدات العقار قد تؤدي إلى حريق. في حال حدوث حريق قم بقطع التيار الكهربائي على الفور، سواء من المقبس أو من مفاتيح التحكم الرئيسية أو بفصل الجهاز مصدر الخطر. لا تستخدم الماء لإطفاء الحريق الناجم عن تماس كهربائي. بل استخدم مطفأة حريق متعددة الاستعمالات إن كان ذلك ممكناً، أما إذا امتد الحريق فأبعد الجميع عن مصدر الخطر فوراً وقم باستدعاء الدفاع المدني على الرقم 997.

إن أي تماس مباشر مع مصدر الكهرباء السارية قد يهدد حياتك. لذلك فإنه من الضروري الحرص عند تعرّض شخص ما لصدمة كهربائية على عدم حصول أي تماس معه، وإلا فمن المرجح أن تتلقى أنت الصدمة أيضاً. قم بقطع التيار الكهربائي على الفور، سواء من المقبس أو من مفاتيح التحكم الرئيسية. إن لم يكن ذلك ممكناّ استخدم أي أداة معزولة أو مصنوعة من الخشب وحاول قطع الاتصال بين مصدر الكهرباء السارية والمصاب. فكلما طالت فترة تعرض المصاب للكهرباء، ارتفعت نسبة الخطر على حياته. أطلب المساعدة الطبية فوراً في حالات الصدمة الكهربائية حتى إن بدا المصاب على ما يرام.

تطبيق الحلول الصحيحة لمعالجة طوارئ المياه

إذا غمرت المياه عقارك فإن أول أمر يتوجب عليك فعله هو إيقاف توصيل المياه والكهرباء من مفاتيح التحكم الرئيسية، فهذا من شأنه أن يساعد على وقف الفيضان ومنع تماس الماء بالكهرباء لدرء خطر حدوث الحرائق الكهربائية أو الصدمات. اتصل بالفني المختص لحل المشكلة ولا تلمس أياً من التجهيزات الكهربائية المبتلة أو الرطبة. بعد زوال الخطر، حاول إلتقاط صور للأضرار البالغة من أجل عرضها على شركة التأمين.

تخضع المياه التي تصلك ضمن خدماتنا للاختبار بشكل دائم للتأكد من جودتها وصلاحيتها للاستخدام والشرب. إلا أن حالة الأنابيب وخزان الماء في عقارك هي خارج نطاق مسؤولياتنا. ولا يتبادر للعملاء أنه يمكن للشوائب والملوثات أن تتراكم مع مرور الوقت وتؤثر على نوعيّة المياه في عقارك. لهذا ولتجنب تغير اللون ومشاكل تلوث الماء بالبكتيريا يجب تنظيف خزان الماء والأنابيب وصيانتها بشكل دوري.