Easy ways to save electricity

​​

 Content Editor

We all know it’s a bad thing to waste precious resources like electricity, and Abu Dhabi residents are becoming increasingly aware of the need to “go green”. It doesn’t take much effort to change your habits and become more energy efficient, which will not only save on bills but also help the environment and improve your quality of life. Here are some simple tips to set you on the road to a more energy efficient future.

Around the home

Air conditioning accounts for about half of all electricity consumption in Abu Dhabi. So, although it’s tempting to switch the AC to ice-cold when it gets hot outside, it’s worth remembering that 24° Celsius is the ideal temperature to balance comfort and economy. As well as turning the thermostat up, it’s important to have your AC system serviced regularly to make sure everything is working efficiently.

Instead of leaving the water heater on all the time, try turning it on just half an hour before your bath or shower, or install timer switches to heat the water at night so that it’s ready for you in the morning.

Get into the habit of turning off lights around the house when they aren’t being used; this is an important lesson for others around you to learn, too. You can reduce your lighting bill by as much as 90% by replacing those old bulbs with modern LED or CFL bulbs. Of course, where possible it’s better to use natural light in place of the electric version.

Always unplug electric appliances when they’re not being used. Leaving devices like TVs or laptops on standby power wastes a lot of electricity that can be easily avoided.

In the kitchen

Freezers and fridges are an essential part of life in a hot climate like ours, but they need to be used efficiently to avoid wasting electricity. Defrost your freezer regularly and keep it as full as possible so it uses less power to keep the contents frozen. Don’t over fill your fridge, and try not to keep opening and closing the door all the time or the cold air inside will escape.

This works for electric ovens too; if you keep opening the door to check how your cooking is doing the heat that has built up inside will escape. When cooking on a stove, try to use pots that are the same size as the hotplates to retain heat. It’s also a good idea to lower the heat slightly, so that your food cooks evenly and pots and pans don’t boil over. You can even turn off the power a few minutes before everything’s fully cooked, as the food will still keep cooking for a while.

Using your appliances

Today’s electrical appliances don’t need as much energy as older models. So if your washing machine, dishwasher or refrigerator is more than 10 years old you’re spending more money on electricity than you need to. Replacing them might be an expensive business, but it could save you a lot of money over time. To help you compare different products, more and more domestic appliances sold in the UAE now display a special label with an energy rating showing how efficient it is.

Dishwashers and washing machines are two of the biggest energy guzzlers in your home so it’s important to make sure they’re fully loaded before you switch on. If possible, avoid using hot water and chose a cool or warm cycle instead. Better still, if your machine has an eco cycle, try to use that when possible.

In general, only use the energy that you need. For example, when you feel like a cup of tea or coffee, don’t overfill the kettle but boil only enough water to make your drink.

*
*

طرق سهلة لتوفير الكهرباء

​​​​​

 محرر المحتوى

جميعنا يعلم أن الكهرباء هي من الموارد الثمينة التي يتوجب علينا أن نقدرها ونحافظ عليها من الهدر، ويتزايد الوعي لدى سكان أبوظبي بضرورة اتباع ممارسات "صديقة للبيئة". إن تغيير عاداتك لتصبح أكثر كفاءة في استهلاك الطاقة هو أمر لا يتطلّب الكثير من الجهد، ويساهم ليس فقط في أن توفر في فواتيرك بل وفي تحسين البيئة ونوعية حياتك. إليك بعض النصائح البسيطة التي تساعدك في التقدم نحو مستقبل أفضل من الاستهلاك الكفء للطاقة.

في أرجاء المنزل

يشكل تكييف الهواء حوالي نصف استهلاك الطاقة الكهربائية في أبوظبي. لذلك، وعلى الرغم من ميل الناس لخفض التكييف إلى درجة البرودة الجليدية عند اشتداد الحر، يجدر بالذكر أن 24 درجة مئوية هي درجة الحرارة المثالية لتحقيق التوازن بين الراحة في المنزل والاقتصاد في الاستهلاك. كما أنه من الضروري التأكد من أن نظام التكييف يعمل بكفاءة.

وعوضاً عن ترك سخان الماء يعمل كل الوقت، حاول تشغيله قبل نصف ساعة فقط من استحمامك، أو اضبط مفتاح المؤقت الآلي لتسخين المياه ليلاً، بحيث تكون المياه جاهزة في الصباح

تعوّد على إطفاء الأنوار في أرجاء المنزل عندما لا تكون بحاجتها، وهي عادة مهمة للآخرين من حولك أيضاً. يمكنك خفض فاتورة الإضاءة بنسبة تصل إلى 90٪ عن طريق الاستعاضة عن المصابيح التقليدية القديمة بمصابيح LED الحديثة أو مصابيح CFL. وبالطبع يفضل استخدام الضوء الطبيعي عوضاً عن الكهربائي، عندما يكون ذلك ممكنا.

قم دائما بنزع قابس الأجهزة الكهربائية عندما لا تكون في الاستخدام. إن ترك أجهزة مثل التلفاز أو أجهزة الكمبيوتر المحمولة في وضع التعليق، يهدر الكثير من الكهرباء، وهو أمر يمكن تجنبه بسهولة.

في المطبخ

تشكل المجمدات والثلاجات جزءاً من أساسيات الحياة في مناخ حار كمناخنا، ولكنها بحاجة لأن تستخدم بكفاءة من أجل تجنب هدر الكهرباء. قم بإزالة الجليد من الثلاجة بانتظام وإبقائها ممتلئة قدر الإمكان بحيث تستخدم طاقة أقل للحفاظ على محتوياتها مجمدة. حاول تجنّب فتح وإغلاق باب الثلاجة باستمرار كي لا يخرج الهواء البارد من داخلها.

الأمر نفسه ينطبق على الأفران الكهربائية أيضا؛ إذا واصلتم فتح الباب للتحقق من استواء الطهي فستتبدد الحرارة داخل الفرن. أما عند الطهي على الموقد، حاول استخدام أوان بنفس حجم الموقد للاحتفاظ بالحرارة. كما أنه من الجيد خفض الحرارة قليلا، بحيث يُطهى طعامك بالتساوي من كل جوانبه ولا تحترق الأواني. يمكنك أيضا إطفاء الموقد قبل النضج التام ببضع دقائق، إذ أن الحرارة ستستمر في طهي الطعام لفترة زمنية بعد إطفاءها.

استخدام الأجهزة الكهربائية

لا تحتاج الأجهزة الكهربائية الحديثة إلى الكثير من الطاقة كما كان عليه الحال مع الأجهزة القديمة. فإذا كانت لديك غسالة أو جلاية صحون أو ثلاجة عمرها أكثر من 10 أعوام، فقد تنفق أكثر على استهلاك الكهرباء مما تحتاج إليه. ربما يكون تبديل هذه الأجهزة مكلفاً على المدى القريب، إلا أنها ستوفر عليك الكثير من المال على المدى البعيد. ولمساعدتك على المقارنة بين الأجهزة المختلفة، تحمل المزيد من الأجهزة المنزلية التي تباع اليوم في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة ملصق خاص يوضح تصنيفها من حيث استهلاك الطاقة وتبين مدى كفاءتها.

تستهلك جلايات الصحون والغسالات الكمّ الأكبر من الطاقة في منزلك، لذا فمن المهم التأكد من أنهما ممتلئتان بالكامل قبل التشغيل. حاول قدر المستطاع عدم استخدام دورة الماء الساخن واختر دورة الماء البارد أو الدافئ بدلا من ذلك، إن أمكن. ومن المستحسن أن تعمل بخيار دورة البيئة (إيكو) إذا كانت الأجهزة مزودة بهذه الميزة، إن أمكن.

بشكل عام، استخدم قدر الطاقة التي تحتاج إليها فقط. على سبيل المثال، إذا كنت ترغب بتناول فنجان من الشاي أو القهوة، لا تقم بملء غلاية الماء بالكامل بل قم بتسخين ما يكفي لصنع شرابك فقط.