Work out your water usage

 Content Editor

It’s great to learn new ways to save water at home and to save water outside your home, but you can also monitor how much you’re saving, by working out your daily usage and comparing the numbers over time. It’s easy, quick and keeps you up-to-date with how you’re doing.

Make friends with your meter

By getting to know how your water meter works you can easily keep track of your consumption. This lets you check if your efforts to reduce the amount you’re using are paying off, and allows you to compare the savings on your bills against the costs of buying a water saver or other equipment.

Work out your family’s daily usage

Your water meter has two sections: the one before the decimal point gives you the reading for cubic metres or units, whereas the numbers after the decimal point records the litres you’ve used. Read the whole number, before and after the decimal point, to find your consumption in cubic metres.

To work out your daily usage, read the meter and make a note of the reading, then do it again at the same time a day later. Simply subtract the first reading from the second to show your usage for a day.

Work out each person’s daily usage

If the gap between the 2 readings is more than 1 day, you’ll still need to subtract the first reading from the second, but then this number should be divided by the number of days between the two readings to get your family’s daily consumption. If you divide this by the number of people in your family, you’ll know how much each of you has used on average.

For example: if you took the first reading on 1 March (1200.00) and the second on 31 March (1245.00), there are 30 days between the two dates, with a total increase for the period of 45 cubic metres.

Consumption is the difference between the two readings (45) divided by the number of days between the readings (30). So, 45/30 = 1.5 cubic metres; which shows the total used by the family each day.

If there are 5 people in the family, simply divide this figure by 5 to get the average usage for each person: 1.5 cubic metres / 5 family members = 0.3 cubic metres. This figure (0.3 cubic metres) is the same as 300 litres of water used by each person, each day.

Compare your consumption

In most developed countries, the average household uses between 150 - 300 litres for each person, each day. But don’t be surprised if your readings show a little higher usage; here in Abu Dhabi’s sunny climate we use a lot of water on things like swimming pools, washing cars and watering the garden. However, if your consumption is much higher than the average you may have a leak within your premises, so you’ll need to get a qualified plumber to check it out.

To gives you an idea of what you should be paying, use our Consumption Guide to compare your bill with the typical bill amount paid by people who live in similar homes to you.

Compare how much you’re saving

Now that you can work out exactly how much water you're using and what it’s costing, it’s easy to take regular readings and compare the results over time. All you have to do then is try different ways to reduce your consumption and monitor your meter to see what’s working and what’s not.

*
*

ترشيد استهلاكك من المياه

​​​​

 محرر المحتوى

إن تعلّم طرق جديدة لترشيد استهلاك المياه في داخل وخارج منزلك هو أمر رائع. كما أصبح بإمكانك أيضاً مراقبة مقدار توفيرك من خلال ضبط استهلاكك اليومي ومقارنته مع الفترات الزمنية. إنها طريقة سهلة وسريعة تبقيك على إطلاع دائم بكمية استهلاكك.

تابع قراءة عداد الماء في عقارك بانتظام

إن معرفة كيفية عمل عداد الماء في عقارك يجعل من السهل عليك أن تراقب مقدار استهلاكك. يتيح لك هذا أن تعرف ما إذا كانت الإجراءات التي تقوم بها للحدّ من استهلاكك ناجعة أم لا، ويسمح لك بمقارنة مبالغ التوفير في فواتيرك مع تكاليف شراء أجهزة توفير المياه أو غيرها من المعدات.

اضبط استهلاك عائلتك اليومي

ينقسم الرقم الظاهر على عداد المياه الخاص بعقارك إلى قسمين: الرقم الذي يسبق فاصلة الكسور العشرية يشير إلى الاستهلاك بالمتر المكعب أو الوحدة، في حين أن الأرقام بعد الفاصلة العشرية تسجل الليترات التي استهلكتها. لا بدّ من قراءة الرقم كله، قبل وبعد الفاصلة العشرية لتحصل على مقدار استهلاكك بالمتر المكعب.

لضبط الاستهلاك اليومي، اقرأ العداد وسجل قراءتك ثم أعد الكرّة في نفس الوقت من اليوم التالي. ثم قم بطرح القراءة الأولى من القراءة الثانية للحصول على استهلاكك ليوم واحد.

معدل استهلاك الفرد في الأسرة

إذا كانت المدة الزمنية بين القراءتين أكثر من يوم واحد فسيكون عليك دائماً طرح القراءة الأولى من القراءة الثانية، إلا أنه يجب عليك بعد ذلك أن تقسّم ناتج الطرح على عدد الأيام بين القراءتين للحصول على متوسط الاستهلاك اليومي لعائلتك من المياه. إذا قمت بتقسيم الناتج على عدد أفراد أسرتك، فستحصل على معدل استهلاك الفرد في أسرتك.

على سبيل المثال: إذا أخذت القراءة الأولى في 1 مارس وكانت (1200.00) والثانية في 31 مارس وكانت (1245.00)، فإن الاستهلاك الاجمالي خلال الشهر سيكون 45 متراً مكعباً، على اعتبار أن المدة الزمنية بين التاريخين هي 30 يوماً.

وبهذا يكون الاستهلاك اليومي هو الفرق بين القرائتين (45) مقسوماً على عدد أيام الفترة الزمنية التي تفصل بين القرائتين (30 يوماً). وبذلك يكون 45/30 = 1.5 متراً مكعباً. مما يشير إلى المعدل اليومي لاستهلاك الأسرة ككل،

وإذا كانت الأسرة تتألف من خمسة أفراد فعليك ببساطة تقسيم ناتج المعدّل اليومي للاستهلاك على 5 للحصول على متوسط الاستهلاك للفرد الواحد: 1.5 متر مكعب / 5 أفراد العائلة = 0.3 متر مكعب. هذا الرقم (0.3 متر مكعب) يعني 300 لتراً من المياه حصة الفرد في اليوم.

قارن استهلاكك

في معظم البلدان المتقدمة يكون متوسط الاستهلاك عادة بين 150-300 لتراً للشخص الواحد في اليوم. لكن لا داعي للقلق إن أظهرت قراءات استهلاكك معدلاً أعلى بقليل. ففي طقس أبوظبي الحار، نستهلك الكثير من المياه في استخدامات متعددة مثل حمامات السباحة، وغسيل السيارات وسقاية الحدائق. ومع ذلك، إذا كان استهلاكك أعلى من المتوسط فقد يكون لديك تسريب للماء في تمديدات العقار الذي تسكنه، لهذا عليك الاتصال بسباك مؤهّل للتحقق من الأمر.

ولتتشكل لديك فكرة عن المبلغ الذي يجب أن تدفعه يرجى مراجعة دليل الاستهلاك لمقارنة فاتورتك بمعدل الفاتورة القياسي الذي يدفعه عملاء آخرون ممن يعيشون في عقارات مماثلة لعقارك.

قارن مقدار التوفير

بعد أن صار بإمكانك ضبط استهلاكك من المياه على وجه الدقة ومعرفة تكلفته، أصبح من السهل أن تأخذ قراءات منتظمة وتقارن النتائج عبر الفترات الزمنية. كل ما عليك القيام به هو تجريب طرق مختلفة للحدّ من استهلاكك ومراقبة العداد للتأكد من أنك تسيطر على مقدار استهلاكك.

*
*