Energy-wise appliances

 Content Editor

In today’s high-tech world, most homes in Abu Dhabi are filled with electrical appliances that make life easier and more comfortable. It’s a matter of habit to switch on the kettle, load the dishwasher or take chilled food from the fridge. But it’s worthwhile stopping to consider the true impact of the appliances we use, on both our power bills and our environment.

In most homes the main energy eaters are the same: fridges and freezers; washing machines and dishwashers; and water heaters. So, swapping your old power-hungry appliances for newer, energy saving models will seriously cut consumption costs. Of course, replacing them can be very expensive but over time it will save you a lot of money.

To make it easier to compare how different products perform, many new appliances sold in UAE now display an Energy Guide label, which shows typical annual energy consumption. Look out for products showing the Emirates Quality Mark label, as these models exceed the minimum energy efficiency levels set by Emirates Authority for Standardization and Metrology (ESMA). Another logo that tells you it’s an energy-friendly product is the Abu Dhabi Trustmark , which is awarded by Abu Dhabi Quality and Conformity Council.

Think inside the box

In our hot climate most of us rely heavily on refrigeration to keep food fresh. The larger the appliance the more energy it needs to run, so don’t buy a huge fridge or freezer and leave it half empty. However, it’s more efficient to run one large unit rather than two small ones.

Your refrigerator or freezer door needs an airtight seal and you should try not to keep opening and closing the door, especially for long periods of time, as the cold air inside will escape. It’s a good idea to defrost your freezer regularly and keep it as full as possible, so it uses less power to keep things frozen; most new units are fitted with an automatic defrosting facility.

Try to keep your refrigerator out of direct sunlight and away from other heat sources, like your oven. Position it against an outside wall to let heat from the motor escape, but make sure you leave some space around the unit for air to circulate.

All washed up

Whether they contain clothes or dishes, washing machines and dishwashers use a lot of water to gets things clean, and use a lot of electricity to heat it. Some newer models use far less water than older styles, but even so, there are still a few things you can do to reduce the amount of energy and water your machine wastes.

Although using hot water could potentially give you cleaner results, it isn’t always necessary as you can use a cold or a warm wash for most clothes. Putting your washing machine on a cold wash uses much less energy that a warm wash cycle. If your machine has an eco cycle, that’s also a good option. Whatever temperature you use, make sure your machine is full before you switch on, but don’t overload it.

Of course, you need to buy a machine that’s the right size for your needs, or you could waste money running it when it’s half empty.

Beat the heat

Unlike most electrical appliances, water heaters are usually tucked out of sight and only thought about when they need fixing. But, when it’s switched on it’s using electricity and you’re paying the bill. So instead of leaving your water heater on all the time, try turning it on just half an hour before your bath or shower. Alternatively, you can keep costs down by fitting a timer to heat water at set times each day, or overnight so it’s ready for you in the morning.

By taking charge of your water heater’s thermostat you can help to control the energy used. Reducing the temperature by just 2 degrees can use up to 6% less electricity, so setting the control to around 55°C will heat your water up, but keep your bills down.

FIND OUT MORE

*
*

الأجهزة الموفرة للطاقة

 محرر المحتوى

تتوافر في معظم منازل أبوظبي جميع التجهيزات الكهربائية العصرية المزوّدة بأحدث التكنولوجيا والتي تجعل حياتنا أكثر سهولة وراحة. فنحن لا نفكر كثيراً عند تشغيل غلاية الماء وأجهزة غسل الأطباق أو عند إخراج الطعام من الثلاجة، فهذه كلها أجهزة تعودنا على التعامل معها. إلا أنه من الضروري والمفيد التوقف للحظة والتفكير بالأثر الحقيقي الذي تتركه هذه الأجهزة على استهلاكنا للطاقة وتكلفتها وأثرها على البيئة.

تعدّ المجمدات والثلاجات والغسالات وأجهزة غسل الأطباق وغلايات الماء، الأجهزة المنزلية التي تستهلك القدر الأكبر من الطاقة في معظم البيوت، لذلك فإن استبدال التجهيزات المنزلية القديمة التي تستهلك الكثير من الكهرباء بأخرى حديثة تتميز بخصائص توفير الطاقة سيوفر الكثير من الأموال التي تدفع مقابل فواتير الكهرباء. وبالطبع قد يكون تبديل هذه الأجهزة مكلفاً على المدى القريب إلا أنها ستوفر الكثير من المال على المدى البعيد.

ولتسهيل عملية المقارنة بين الأجهزة الكهربائية المختلفة، تحمِلُ المزيد من الأجهزة المنزلية التي تباع اليوم في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة ملصق كفاءة الطاقة الذي يوضح مقدار الاستهلاك السنوي للجهاز من الطاقة. ننصح بشراء الأجهزة التي تحمل علامة الجودة الإماراتية، حيث أن هذه الأجهزة تتجاوز في كفاءتها الحد الأدنى من مستويات كفاءة الطاقة التي تحددها هيئة الإمارات للمواصفات والمقاييس. وهناك شعار آخر ننصح بالانتباه لوجوده على الأجهزة التي تودون شراءها، هو علامة أبوظبي للثقة والذي يمنحه مجلس أبوظبي للجودة والمطابقة.

الثلاجات والمجمدات

يعتمد جميعنا على الثلاجات والمجمدات لحفظ الطعام. إلا أنه كلما كان الجهاز المنزلي أكبر كلما احتاج لمزيد من الطاقة لتشغيله، لذا ننصح بعدم شراء ثلاجة كبيرة وتركها نصف فارغة. ولكن مما لا شك فيه أن ثلاجة واحدة كبيرة أفضل من اثنتين صغيرتين من ناحية التوفير في استهلاك الطاقة.

تحتاج الثلاجة إلى أن تكون مغلقة بإحكام حتى تحافظ على درجة الحرارة المنخفضة داخلها، لذا ننصح بتجنب فتح وإغلاق باب الثلاجة باستمرار قدر الإمكان، وبالتحديد فتح الباب لمدة طويلة، كي لا يخرج الهواء البارد من داخلها. كما ننصح بإزالة الجليد من الثلاجة بشكل دوري وإبقائها ممتلئة بالطعام قدر الإمكان بحيث تستخدم طاقة أقل للحفاظ على محتوياتها مجمدة؛ ننوه إلى أن معظم المجمدات الحديثة مزودة بميزة إزالة للجليد أوتوماتيكية.

وأخيراً ننصح بوضع الثلاجة بعيداً عن أشعة الشمس المباشرة أو مصادر الحرارة الأخرى كالفرن.المكان الأمثل للثلاجة هو أمام جدار خارجي يسمح بتبديد الحرارة الصادرة من المحرك. ولا بدّ من ترك مساحة حول الثلاجة تسمح بتحرك الهواء حولها.

الغسالات وأجهزة غسل الأطباق

تستهلك الغسالات وأجهزة غسل الأطباق الكثير من المياه في عملها والكثير من الكهرباء لتسخين المياه. وبالرغم من أن الطرازات الجديدة تستهلك مقداراً أقل من الماء والكهرباء بالمقارنة مع مثيلاتها القديمة، إلا أن هناك بضعة نصائح يمكن تطبيقها للتقليل من هدر المياه والطاقة المستهلكة.

بالرغم من أن المياه الساخنة قد تساهم في الحصول على أطباق أكثر نظافة، إلا أن ذلك ليس بالأمر الضروري دائماً حيث يمكن للماء البارد أو الفاتر أن يغسل الأطباق ويحقق نتائج مماثلة. لذلك ننصح باستخدام الماء البارد لاستهلاك مقدار أقل من الطاقة التي تحتاجها الجلاية لتسخين المياه. ومن المستحسن العمل بخيار دورة البيئة (إيكو) إذا كانت الغسالة مزودة بهذه الميزة. الأمر المهم هو أن تكون الغسالة مليئة بالأطباق قبل تشغيلها دون تحميلها فوق استطاعتها، وبصرف النظر عن درجة حرارة الماء التي تحددها للغسل.

وبالطبع فإن اختيار الجهاز ذو الاستطاعة المناسبة للاحتياجات الخاصة بمنزلك هو أمر أساسي حتى لا تتكبد مصاريف استهلاك أجهزة ذات استطاعة تفوق حاجتك.

سخان المياه

جرت العادة أن لا نعير انتباهاً لسخان المياه في المنزل إلا عندما يكون معطلاً، إلا أنه يستهلك الكثير من الكهرباء أثناء عمله. وعوضاً عن ترك سخان الماء يعمل كل الوقت، ننصح بتشغيله قبل نصف ساعة فقط من الاستحمام، أو ضبط المؤقت الآلي لتسخين المياه في أوقات معينة من اليوم أو خلال الليل بحيث تكون المياه ساخنة في الصباح مع موعد الاستحمام.

كما أن تحديد حرارة المياه يساعد على التحكم في مقدار الطاقة المستهلكة، حيث أن خفض درجة حرارة المياه بمقدار درجتين مئويتين فقط يساهم في خفض استهلاك السخان للكهرباء بنسبة 6%. لذا ننصح بتحديد درجة الحرارة المطلوبة عند 55 درجة مئوية للحصول على مياه ساخنة وتقليص مقدار فاتورة الكهرباء.

اقرأ المزيد

*
*