Energy-friendly air conditioning

 Content Editor

In our desert climate, when the sun comes up it’s time to cool things down, but the type of AC unit you have and the way you use it can make a big difference to the amount of electricity you use, and to the bill that goes with it.

As Abu Dhabi continues to grow and develop, our hunger for energy is growing too. Currently, we demand over three times more electricity than the world average*, with cooling and air conditioning responsible for much of this — around 70% of summer peak electricity load*. Of course, it’s no surprise we use more than average, given the hot and humid conditions in which we live; but we need look at the challenges our growing energy demands present, and think about how we’ll be able to meet our future energy needs.
* Source: World Bank Statistics 2012

Save your energy

Air conditioning accounts for a large part of our total electricity consumption, so it’s important that we learn to use our resources wisely and reduce the amount of energy we use to keep cool. As with most other appliances, modern AC units consume less electricity than earlier designs: you can shave up to 40% off of the cost of running your older model*. When buying a new unit, try to go for one with a SEER reading (Seasonable Energy Efficacy Rating) of 13 or above, and make sure you choose one that’s the right size and type for your needs. For this, you’ll need to look at the size of the unit itself, and also consider how big the room is that it needs to chill, the surrounding environment (it’s hotter near a kitchen), how often the AC will be used and the type of thermostat settings available.

Our society is becoming more and more conscious of the need for energy efficiency, and most new AC units sold in UAE now display an Energy Guide label, which shows typical annual energy consumption. Look out for products showing the Emirates Quality Mark label, as these models exceed the minimum efficiency levels set by Emirates Authority for Standardization and Metrology (ESMA). Another efficiency logo to look for is the Abu Dhabi Trustmark, awarded by Abu Dhabi Quality and Conformity Council, which rates AC units depending on their type and cooling capacity.

Keep your cool

So, once you’ve bought your new, energy efficient AC unit, you might think your work’s done. But it’s also important to keep it regularly maintained, so that the filters are kept clean or replaced often, allowing cool air to flow freely; this could help you reduce the amount of electricity your AC uses by up to 30%*.

Make sure your home is well insulated to keep heat out and to stop cold air escaping, which will keep the room cooler for longer. Try closing curtains or blinds over windows during the hottest part of the day to guard against warmth from sunlight.

Chill out at home

Changing how you use AC in your home can really make a difference. The colder your thermostat is set, the more energy it uses, so try turning things up a few degrees; it won’t affect your comfort but a small change can go a long way: 1 degree Celsius can save up to 6% of your electricity consumption*.

Alternatively, you can use a programmable thermostat to make sure cool air is only there when you need it.

As well as controlling the temperature, don’t waste energy cooling rooms that aren’t being used. Turn the AC off when you don’t need it and try not to waste electricity trying to chill a room when the doors or windows are open.
* Source: RSB Powerwise

FIND OUT MORE

*
*

التكييف الصديق للطاقة

​​​

​​​​

 محرر المحتوى

إن مناخنا الصحراوي يدفعنا لتشغيل التكييف منذ الصباح مع شروق الشمس. إلا أن نوع أجهزة التكييف وطريقة استخدامنا لها يمكن أن تؤثر بشكل كبير على كمية الكهرباء التي يستهلكها التكييف ومقدار الفاتورة الشهرية التي ندفعها.

مما لا شك فيه أن حاجة أبوظبي للطاقة في ازدياد مع تطور ونمو المدينة. ويزيد طلبنا للطاقة حالياً بثلاثة أضعاف عن *متوسط الطلب على الطاقة في العالم، حيث يحتاج التكييف والتبريد للمقدار الأكبر من الطاقة ويستهلك حوالي 70% من الكهرباء في موسم الذروة في فصل الصيف*. إن حاجتنا لمزيد من الطاقة هو ليس بالأمر المفاجئ بالطبع نظراً للمناخ الحار والجاف الذي نعيش فيه. ولكن لا بدّ لنا من النظر بتمعن في التحديات التي نواجهها مع ازدياد حاجتنا للطاقة، والتفكير في كيفية تلبية احتيجاتنا المستقبلية من الطاقة.
*المصدر: إحصائيات البنك الدولي عام 2012

وفروا في استهلاك الطاقة

تتطلب أجهزة التكييف الحصة الأكبر من إجمالي استهلاكنا للطاقة، لذلك فمن الضروري أن نتعلم كيفية استخدام مصادرنا بحكمة وتقليل كمية الكهرباء التي نستهلكها للتكييف. تستهلك أجهزة التكييف الحديثة، كما في جميع الأجهزة الحديثة التي تعتمد على الكهرباء، كمية أقل من الكهرباء عن مثيلاتها من الطرازات القديمة، حيث يصل التوفير في قيمة فواتير الكهرباء إلى 40% عند تركيب أجهزة تكييف حديثة مقارنة بالطرازات القديمة*. عند شراء وحدة تكييف حديثة ننصح باختيار وحدة تكييف بنسبة كفاءة الطاقة الموسمية (SEER) عند الدرجة 13 أو أكثر، والتأكد من أن قياس ونوع الوحدة ملائم لاحتياجات المستخدم. ولتحديد القياس المناسب لوحدة التكييف لا بدّ من الأخذ بعين الاعتبار حجم الغرفة التي تحتاج للتبريد وموقعها في العقار (عادة ما تكون درجة الحرارة أعلى في الغرف القريبة من المطبخ)، وتواتر استخدام وحدة التكييف وخيارات التبريد المتاحة في إعدادات الوحدة.

إن وعي المجتمع بأهمية الحفاظ على الطاقة في ازدياد ولذلك نجد أن معظم وحدات التكييف الجديدة التي تباع اليوم في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة تضع ملصق كفاءة الطاقة الذي يوضح مقدار الاستهلاك السنوي من الطاقة. ننصح بشراء الأجهزة التي تحمل علامة الجودة الإماراتية، حيث أن هذه الأجهزة تتجاوز في كفاءتها الحد الأدنى لمستويات كفاءة الطاقة التي تحددها هيئة الإمارات للمواصفات والمقاييس. وهناك شعار آخر ننصح بالانتباه لوجوده على أجهزة التكييف التي تودون شراءها، هو علامة أبوظبي للثقة والذي يمنحه مجلس أبوظبي للجودة والمطابقة، ويصنف وحدات التكييف اعتماداً على نوعها واستطاعة التكييف التي تتميز بها.

أفضل الممارسات

هناك مزيد من الممارسات التي تتبع شراء وحدة تكييف حديثة تتمتع بميزات كفاءة الطاقة، فمن المهم الحفاظ على وحدة التكييف بحالة جيدة وصيانتها بشكل دوري حتى تبقى الفلاتر (مرشحات الهواء) نظيفة أو تغييرها بعد فترات محددة مما يسمح بتدفق الهواء البارد دون عوائق؛ يساعد هذا على خفض كمية الكهرباء التي يستهلكها المكيف بنسبة تصل إلى 30%.

لا بدّ من عزل المنزل بشكل جيد للحفاظ على البرودة داخل المنزل ومنعها من التسرب للخارج مما يساعد في الحفاظ على برودة الغرفة لفترة أطول. ومن الجيد أيضاً إغلاق الستائر خلال ساعات الظهيرة عندما تكون درجات الحرارة في ذروتها لدرء الحرارة التي تبعثها أشعة الشمس.

أجواء منزلية مريحة

إن تغيير عادات استخدام المكيف التي نتبعها قد تترك أثراً كبيراً. إذ يزداد استهلاك المكيف للطاقة كلما انخفضت درجة الحرارة التي نحددها لمقياس المكيف، لذا ننصح برفع درجة حرارة مقياس المكيف ببضع درجات فقط بحيث لا تؤثر على راحتك ولكن تساهم بتغيير كبير في الاستهلاك، فاستهلاك المكيف للكهرباء ينخفض بنسبة تصل إلى 6% عند رفع درجة حرارة المقياس درجة واحدة.

الخيار الآخر هو استخدام البرنامج الأوتوماتيكي في المكيف لضبط درجة حرارة الغرفة بحيث يعمل المكيف فقط عند وصول درجة حرارة الغرفة إلى حدّ معين يحدده المستخدم.

الأمر الآخر الذي لا بدّ من التنويه إليه هو عدم هدر الطاقة بتشغيل مكيفات الغرف التي لا يجلس فيها أحد من القاطنين في المنزل. لذلك نرجو إطفاء المكيف عند عدم الحاجة إليه وعدم تشغيله لتبريد غرفة فتحت نوافذها وأبوابها لأن هذا أيضاً هدر للكهرباء والأموال.
*المصدر: مكتب وفر طاقة التابع لمكتب التنظيم والرقابة

اقرأ المزيد

*
*