Energy-efficient lighting

​​​​​

​​​​​

 Content Editor

Using your lighting more efficiently, both at home and at work, is easier than it sounds. A few small changes to the way you do things can result in big savings to your electricity bills and also help our environment. If you want to adopt a more energy conscious approach to life, here are a few tips to help you see the light.

Simple ways to use less lighting

Get into the habit of switching off the lights when you leave a room or pass by a room that nobody is using. This is a good practice to pass on to others around you, too.

We live in a sunny place so try to use natural light where possible during the day; if you install insulating glass windows it will allow the brightness from outside to enter your building.

When natural light isn’t an option, a great way to reduce your electricity usage is to use energy efficient lamps and bulbs. You can also decorate your walls using brighter coloured paint, which will reflect light and illuminate the room.

Energy saving light bulbs

Compact Fluorescent Lamps (CFLs)

People in the know are replacing traditional (incandescent) light bulbs with energy saving bulbs (fluorescent), which use a lot less power even though they give the same amount of light. The difference can be a saving of up to 80% when comparing 60 or 100 watts bulbs – typically used in the home – with their low-energy equivalents that only use about 9-11 watts.

The lifespan of a power saving fluorescent lamp is 8 times longer on average than a normal bulb; working for about 8,000 hours compared with a standard lamp, which usually only lasts between 750-1,000 hours. And, although they cost more to buy, this is outweighed by their longer life and huge energy saving over time. They produce less heat, too, so your AC doesn’t have to work so hard.

Light Emitting Diode Lamps (LEDs)

LED bulbs are small, durable and use very little energy. They’re being adopted more and more for use in the home, because of their extended life – they can last up to 25 times longer than traditional incandescent bulbs, and 2-3 times longer than CFLs – and the low levels of heat that they produce. Available in a variety of colours, they have lots of different applications, like desk lamps or outside lighting, and can be easily used with dimmer switches and motion sensors.

Impact on the environment

Using less power means that low energy light bulbs don’t release so much carbon dioxide into the air, making them better for our environment. However, CFLs are made using a small amount of mercury, which isn’t a problem when in use but means they must be disposed of very carefully. If possible, you should recycle your used bulbs, as it’s not ideal for them to end up in a landfill.

FIND OUT MORE

*
*

الإضاءة الموفرة للطاقة

​​​​​​​​

​​​​​

 محرر المحتوى

إن استخدام وسائل الإضاءة في المنزل بشكل أكثر فعالية هو أمر أكثر سهولة مما يبدو عليه. فتغييرات صغيرة تؤدي إلى توفير كبير في فواتير الكهرباء والحفاظ على البيئة التي نعيش فيها. إليكم هنا بعض النصائح التي يمكنكم اتباعها لأسلوب حياة يراعي استهلاكنا للطاقة ويحافظ على بيئتنا.

طرق سهلة لاستهلاك إضاءة أقل

إعملوا على تذكير أنفسكم بضرورة إطفاء الأنوار عند مغادرة الغرفة أو المرور بغرفة لا يجلس فيها أحد. ممارسة هذه العادة ضروري لترشيد استهلاك الطاقة، كما أنها عادة صحية معدية سيتبناها معظم أفراد الأسرة أيضاً.

حاولوا استخدام الضوء الطبيعي خلال النهار فنحن نعيش في بلاد مشمسة. وننصح بتركيب الزجاج العازل للنوافذ حيث يسمح هذا الزجاج للضوء الطبيعي بالدخول إلى المبنى.

أما عندما لا تكون الإضاءة بالضوء الطبيعي ممكنة فإن أفضل طريقة لتوفير الكهرباء هي باستخدام المصابيح الموفرة للطاقة. كما يمكن دهن جدران الغرف بألوان مشرقة تعكس الإضاءة وتنير الغرف.

المصابيح الموفرة للطاقة

مصابيح الفلورسنت المدمجة

يقوم العديد من الناس بالالتزام بالحفاظ على البيئة في تفاصيل حياتهم اليومية كاستبدال مصابيح الإنارة التقليدية بمصابيح الفلورسنت المدمجة التي تقدم نفس درجة الإنارة على الرغم من أنها تستهلك مقداراً من الطاقة أقل بكثير من المصابيح التقليدية. فالفرق بالتوفير قد يصل إلى 80% عند مقارنة المصابيح بقدرة 60 إلى 100 واط التي عادة ما تستخدم لإنارة المنازل، حيث يصل استهلاك المصابيح الموفرة للطاقة من 9 إلى 11 واط فقط.

كما أن عمر استهلاك مصابيح الفلورسنت المدمجة أطول بمعدل ثمان مرات من المصابيح التقليدية، حيث يصل عمر استهلاك مصابيح الفلورسنت المدمجة لحوالي 8,000 ساعة بالمقارنة مع 750 إلى 1,000 ساعة للمصابيح التقليدية. ويعوّض عمر استهلاك مصابيح الفلورسنت المدمجة وتوفيرها في استهلاك الطاقة غلاء ثمنها بالمقارنة مع أسعار المصابيح التقليدية. كما أنها تتمتع بميزة إضافية هي أنها لا تصدر الكثير من الحرارة وبالتالي لا يضطر نظام التكييف للعمل بجهد أكبر للمحافظة على المستوى المحدد لدرجة الحرارة في الغرفة.

مصابيح الضوء الثنائية (LED)

مصابيح الضوء الثنائية LED هي مصابيح صغيرة وفعالة وتستهلك كميات قليلة من الطاقة. أصبح استخدام هذه المصابيح في المنازل أكثر انتشاراً بسبب طول عمر استهلاكها (يمكن أن تعمل لفترة أطول بـ 35 مرة من المصابيح التقليدية وأطول بضعفين إلى ثلاثة أضعاف مقارنة بمصابيح الفلورسنت المدمجة) وعدم إصدارها لكثير من الحرارة. تتوفر هذه المصابيح بألوان متعددة ويتنوع استخدامها من المصابيح المكتبية وحتى الإضاءة الخارجية، كما يمكن استخدامها مع مفاتيح تعديل مقدار الإضاءة وأجهزة استشعار الحركة.

أ ثر استخدام وسائل الإنارة الموفرة للطاقة على البيئة

إن استخدام مقدار أقل من الكهرباء يعني أن المصابيح الموفرة للطاقة لا تصدر الكثير من الإنبعاثات الكربونية في الجو مما يساعد في الحفاظ على البيئة. إلا أن صناعة مصابيح الفلورسنت المدمجة تتطلب استخدام كميات قليلة من الزئبق. لا تشكل هذه المصابيح خطراً عند الاستخدام لكن يجب توخي الحذر عند إتلافها. وننصح بإعادة تدوير المصابيح التالفة إن أمكن، حيث أنه لا يفضل أن تكون ضمن محتويات مكب النفايات.

اقرأ المزيد