Save water outside your home

 Content Editor

In our dry, sunny climate, we cheat the heat by using a lot of water to keep the garden blooming, make the car gleam and to practice backstroke in the pool. But, it’s just as easy to enjoy life outside while using less water; change the way you do things by trying a few of our tips on how to save water.

In the garden

Tending to your garden doesn’t have to mean huge water bills; you can cut down the amount you use with a few easy fixes. Start by fitting a spray or drip, which limits the flow of water to your plants. You could also install a water barrel in the garden, to collect wastewater from the bath and sink for recycling. If you use a sprinkler, adjust it so the spray only hits your lawn and isn’t wasted on your garden furniture or the neighbours’ washing that’s hanging out to dry.

Our desert climate is very harsh, so if you’re thinking of redesigning your garden try to plant drought-resistant grasses, along with plants and shrubs that thrive on less water. Also, adding a layer of compost or bark around trees and bigger plants will help to retain moisture, and it keeps weeds down, too. Alternatively, you could reduce your lawn area, and your water needs, by creating a paved terrace.

In the garage

It’s time to say no to your hosepipe. Yes, it’s really easy to just pick it up and spray away, and you’ve probably always used it to clean the car. But, a hosepipe wastes a lot of water so learn to wash your vehicles using a bucket or two instead; and use a broom to clean the driveways and paved areas, rather than hosing them down.

Check for leaks in hoses, taps and couplings, to make sure they connect securely and don’t dribble or spray water where they shouldn’t.

In the pool

Swimming pools use large amounts of water, but your pool doesn’t need to be full to the top. By lowering the fill level, you’ll use less water and also reduce the loss when you and your family are splashing about.

Putting a cover over your pool will shade it from the sun and reduce evaporation – it can reduce water loss by as much as 95% on hot afternoons, when the water is at its warmest. A great way to provide cover for your pool is by landscaping the trees and plants around it, to provide a natural sunshade.

Drain your pool only when necessary. If it’s maintained properly, it should only need to be emptied every 3-7 years. Also, make sure the pool isn’t draining itself; check the pool walls and the drainage system to make sure there are no leeks: look out for saturated soil near the pool, pump or plumbing and check for leaking pipes or valves, loose tiles or cracks.

FIND OUT MORE

*
*

توفير المياه خارج منزلك

 محرر المحتوى

في الظروف المناخية التي نعيش فيها من أجواء جافة ومشمسة ودرجات حرارة مرتفعة، يزداد استهلاكنا من المياه لتعبئة أحواض السباحة والحفاظ على خضرة الحديقة ونظافة المركبات. بتعديلات بسيطة وسهلة يمكن لنا أن نحافظ على استمتاعنا بحياة الأجواء الصيفية ونوفر في نفس الوقت في استهلاكنا من المياه. إليكم بعض النصائح المفيدة حول هذه التعديلات:

في الحديقة

إن الاعتناء بالحديقة في أجواء الحرارة المرتفعة لا يعني بالضرورة تكبد فاتورة استهلاك كبيرة من المياه، بل بإمكانكم التوفير في استهلاك المياه ببضع تعديلات بسيطة. الخطوة الأولى هي تركيب نظام الري بالرش أو التنقيط والذي يرشّد من كمية المياه المستخدمة للري. ويمكنكم تركيب برميل المياه العادمة في الحديقة الذي يجمع المياه التي استُهلكت لأغراض الاستحمام والجلي ويكررها لاستخدامها في ري الحديقة. إذا كنت تستخدم نظام الري بالمرشات قم بتعديل المساحة التي تغطيها مياه المرشات بحيث تشمل المساحة المراد ريّها فقط.

ولأن ظروف الطقس هنا صحراوية وقاسية ننصح بزرع الأعشاب الصحراوية التي تقاوم الجفاف في حديقتكم، مع النباتات والشجيرات التي يمكن لها أن تعيش وتزهر بكميات أقل من مياه الري. كما أن إضافة طبقة من السماد أو قشور (لحاء) الشجر حول الأشجار والنباتات الكبيرة يساعد في الحفاظ على الرطوبة وعلى الأعشاب التي تنمو في ظلال الأشجار. أو يمكنكم الاستعاضة عن المساحات العشبية الكبيرة بأجزاء معبدة في الحديقة أو التراس.

في المرآب

لا بدّ من التوقف عن استخدام خرطوم المياه لغسيل السيارات. نحن نعلم أن استخدام خرطوم المياه هو الطريقة الأسهل لغسيل السيارات، لكنه يهدر الكثير من المياه. لذلك لا بدّ لنا من تعلم استخدام الدلو لغسل السيارات والمكنسة عوضاً عن الشطف لتنظيف فناء المنزل.

تحقق من عدم وجود تسرب في أنابيب وحنفيات ووصلات المياه للتأكد من أنها لا تهدر المياه.

في حوض السباحة

تستهلك أحواض السباحة كميات كبيرة من المياه. ولذلك ننصح بعدم تعبئة حوض السباحة في المنازل إلى حدّ السعة القصوى للحفاظ على الماء والتقليل من كمية الهدر عند قضاء يوم من اللعب بالماء مع الأسرة والأصدقاء.

استخدام غطاء خاص لحوض السباحة سيحمي الماء من أشعة الشمس وبالتالي يقلل من تبخرها، حيث يمكن للغطاء أن يقلل من هدر المياه بنسبة 95% في ساعات الظهيرة عندما تكون درجات الحرارة في ذروتها. وهناك طريقة رائعة لتظليل حوض السباحة عبر تصميم نباتات وأشجار الحديقة حول الحوض لتُلقي بظلالها على الحوض وتحجب أشعة الشمس.

لا يجب إفراغ حوض السباحة من المياه إلا عندما يكون ذلك ضرورياً. حيث تحتاج مياه حوض السباحة للتغيير مرة كل 3 إلى 7 سنوات إذا تمت معالجتها بالشكل المطلوب. لا بدّ كذلك من التأكد من عدم وجود تسرب في حوض السباحة بشكل دوري: تحقق من جدران الحوض وما إذا كانت التربة مبللة حول الحوض، أو إذا كانت هناك مشاكل في التمديدات أو تسرب في الأنابيب أو صمامات المياه، أو شقوق في قطع السيراميك أو أنها غير مثبتة بشكل جيد.

اقرأ المزيد