Save water at home

​​​​​​

 Content Editor

Just a few small changes to your daily routine can have a big impact on your bills, and reduce the amount of water that you and your family waste each day. Try a few of these tips to keep the costs down and start using your water wisely when at home.

In the bathroom

Take showers instead of baths. You can save around 45 litres of water by swapping a big soak for a 5-minute shower. An average size bathtub uses up to 80 litres of water, whereas a 5-minute regular shower only uses about 35 litres. Think about how long you need for a shower too; try not to stay under the spray longer than is necessary.

Don’t leave the tap running when you’re cleaning your teeth, shaving or washing your face. It might not sound like much, but the amount of water you waste in these ways can really add up. A tap left running for just 5 minutes can use almost 50 litres of water.

Try to avoid using your toilet as a handy place to drop tissues, cigarette ash and other litter. It’s better to use a wastepaper basket instead of flushing them.

In the kitchen

Use a bowl to prepare vegetables, rather than rinsing them under a running tap. This is also a good idea when you’re rinsing dishes or pans after a meal. If you use a dishwasher, make sure it’s fully loaded before you put it on. Your washing machine should be full before use, too - every cycle uses about 100 litres of water, so it’s worth making each one count.

Set your dishwasher or washing machine to an eco cycle or shorter wash, if there is one. Only use the heavy wash cycles for stubborn stains or when necessary.

In general

If you can install a water regulator or water saver on your taps and showerhead, it mixes the water coming out of the tap with air to control the flow and reduce how much water you're using. They’re easy to install and you’ll hardly notice any reduction in the amount of water you receive.

Check regularly for water leaks. Even a single dripping tap can waste 15 litres of water each day, and serious leaks waste far more. A good way to tell if there’s a problem is to take a water meter reading, then check it again after a 2-hour period during which no water has been used, if the two readings aren’t exactly the same there is probably a leak. If this is the case, you need to call a qualified plumber to fix it.

FIND OUT MORE

*
*

توفير المياه في المنزل

​​​​​​

 محرر المحتوى

إن أبسط التغييرات في عاداتنا اليومية قد يكون لها تأثير على مبلغ فواتيرنا الشهرية وعلى مقدار هدر الماء والحفاظ على البيئة. نرجو منكم أن تحاولوا الالتزام بالقدر الممكن من هذه النصائح حتى تقللوا من قيمة فواتيركم وتستخدموا الماء بشكل مسؤول ودون هدر.

في الحمام

لا تقم بتعبئة حوض الاستحمام واستخدم الدش عوضاً عن ذلك، حيث يمكنك توفير حوالي 45 لتراً من الماء بتخليك عن عادة تعبئة حوض الاستحمام لكل حمام. يتسع حوض الاستحمام بمعدل وسطي لـ80 لتراً من المياه، بينما يستهلك الاستحمام بالدش حوالي 35 لتراً. كما أن الوقت الذي تقضيه في الاستحمام يلعب دوراً كذلك، لذلك نرجو عدم البقاء في الحمام لفترة أطول مما هو ضروري.

لا تتركوا صنبور المياه مفتوحاً عند تنظيف الأسنان أو الحلاقة أو غسل الوجه. قد لا تبدو لكم كمية المياه كبيرة، إلا أن ترك حنفية الماء مفتوحة عدة مرات يساهم في أن تكون كمية الهدر كبيرة، حيث أن الحنفية المفتوحة لفترة 5 دقائق تهدر حوالي 50 لتراً من الماء.

تجنبوا رمي المحارم الورقية وأعقاب السجائر وأية مهملات في دورة المياه، وننصح باستخدام سلة المهملات بدلاً من هدر الماء للتخلص من الفضلات التي نرميها في دورة المياه.

في المطبخ

استخدموا وعاء لغسل الخضراوات عوضاً عن المياه الجارية من الصنبور. ويمكن تطبيق فكرة الوعاء كذلك عند غسل الصحون والطناجر. إذا كنتم تستخدمون غسالة الصحون فتأكدوا من ملئها بالكامل قبل تشغيلها. وكذلك الأمر بالنسبة للغسالة التي تستهلك في كل دورة حوالي 100 لتر من الماء.

ننصح بتعديل إعدادات غسالة الصحون والملابس لوضع العمل بالدورة البيئية (إيكو) أو الغسل السريع إذا كانت هذه الإعدادات متوفرة. ولا تستخدموا وضع دورة الغسل المكثف إلا في حالات البقع المستعصية أو عند الضرورة.

بشكل عام

ننصح بتركيب منظمات المياه أو أجهزة التوفير على الحنفيات ورؤوس الدش، حيث أنها تعمل على إضافة ضغط هواء للماء مما يخفف من كمية المياه المستهلكة. هذه الأجهزة سهلة التركيب ولن يلاحظ المستهلك أي فرق في كمية أو ضغط الماء المستخدم.

تأكد بشكل دوري من عدم وجود تسرب للمياه إذ يمكن لصنبور واحد لم يغلق بإحكام أن يهدر 15 لتراً من الماء يومياً، أما التسريبات الكبيرة فتهدر أكثر من ذلك بكثير. إن أفضل طريقة للتأكد من عدم وجود تسرب في أنابيب المياه في المنزل هي أخذ قراءة العداد في ساعة محددة والتوقف عن استهلاك المياه بعدها لساعتين ثم قراءة العداد مرة أخرى، وإذا كان هناك اختلاف بين القراءتين فهذا يعني أن هناك تسرباً في أنابيب العقار. وفي هذه الحالة لا بدّ من الاتصال بسبّاك مؤهل لتحديد مكان التسرب وإصلاحه.

اقرأ المزيد