Conserving our environment

 Content Editor

Driving change

Every large-scale business impacts the environment in which it operates, and our business is no exception. It’s a big responsibility to build and run the infrastructure to pump, treat, transport, store and deliver safe drinking water, or to store and distribute our electricity supply safely and efficiently.

Part of our duty involves finding new ways to do things that reduce our environmental impact. With an eye on the future, ADPC has established several initiatives aimed at researching and safeguarding the local environment.

Finding the way forward

Founded and funded by ADPC , the National Energy and Water Research Centre (NEWRC) is concerned with finding alternative ways of providing for the region’s future water and energy needs, specifically focusing on power generation and water desalination.

Researchers are looking at ways to develop renewable energy sources – such as solar power in an effort to sustainably meet our increasing power demands. Other research at the centre is looking at alternatives to fossil fuels, with nuclear energy a key area of study. This is now an established method of supplying electricity in many developed economies; one that doesn’t release harmful gases or toxic metals into the environment.

Another main drive of the work at NEWRC is concerned with environmental impact assessments and risk assessments, aimed at large industrial producers like power plants or at the mega projects planned in the region. Scientists use state-of-the-art monitoring equipment to test air quality, ecosystems, and assess the risk of exposure to electromagnetic fields, noise, and radioactivity. These studies provide great on-the-job training for local engineers, and the centre provides opportunities to transfer knowledge, create innovation and encourage national and regional participation.

Looking to the future

As our demand for energy continues to increase, it’s up to us to find new ways of doing things. ADPC takes a proactive role in the search to develop new, renewable and alternative energy sources. To this end, our delegates participated in the Environment 2007 exhibition and conference held in Abu Dhabi in January 2007, which featured specialist exhibitors and representatives from institutions around the world, who gathered to focus on environmental issues.

This was followed by our participation in the World Future Energy Summit, held in Abu Dhabi in January 2009, an event which gathered top government officials, heads of global concerns, major investors and leading environmentalists, to discuss the future of the energy sector.

Taking the initiative

ADPC has sponsored several conferences in the region concerned with power and water, most notably electing to be the main sponsor at several MEED conferences, and supporting the POWER-GEN Middle East conference in 2007.

In addition, a number of initiatives have been launched with the aim of conserving natural resources, reducing pollution and promoting community awareness of conservation, waste recycling and disposal, to safeguard future generations. For example, in August 2009 we held the Heroes of the UAE campaign, where we distributed 40,000 environment friendly light bulbs in Abu Dhabi to raise awareness of the need to reduce power usage.

Other eco-friendly ideas are directed closer to home.

The Management Without Papers policy encouraged staff members in ADPC group companies to put away their memo pads and notes, and instead try to contact their colleagues electronically, in an attempt reduce the amount of paper that is wasted. The company continues to find ways to lead us towards a greener future.

*
*
*

الحفاظ على بيئتنا

 محرر المحتوى

قيادة التغيير

تقوم جميع الشركات الكبيرة بالتأثير على البيئة تبعاً للمجال الذي تعمل كل شركة فيه، ونحن بدورنا كشركة كبيرة لسنا استثناء. نحمل على عاتقنا مسؤولية كبيرة سواء في بناء وتشغيل البنية التحتية التي تعمل على ضخ ومعالجة ونقل وتخزين وتوصيل مياه شرب نظيفة وآمنة، أو في تخزين وتوزيع مواردنا الكهربائية بأمان وكفاءة.

رعت مؤسسة أبوظبي للطاقة أبوظبي عدة مؤتمرات في المنطقة تتعلق بالطاقة والمياه من أبرزها انتخاب الدائرة لتكون الراعي الرئيسي لعدة مؤتمرات نظمتها مجلة ميد، ودعمت مؤتمر ومعرض الكهرباء والماء في عام 2007.

إيجاد حلول مستقبلية

أسست مؤسسة أبوظبي للطاقة أبوظبي و مولت الوطني لأبحاث الطاقة والمياه، ويُعنى المركز بإيجاد طرق بديلة لتزويد المنطقة باحتياجاتها من المياه والطاقة في المستقبل مع التركيز بشكل خاص على توليد الكهرباء وتحلية المياه،

حيث يتطلع الباحثون إلى طرق تطوير مصادر الطاقة البديلة، كالطاقة الشمسية، في مسعى لإيجاد حلول ومصادر مستدامة لتلبية الحاجة المتزايدة للطاقة. ويُجري المركز بحثاً آخر حول بدائل الوقود الأحفوري كالطاقة النووية التي تعدّ محور الدراسة الرئيسي، إذ أصبحت الطاقة النووية الطريقة المتبعة لتوليد الطاقة الكهربائية في العديد من المجتمعات الاقتصادية المتقدمة وهي طريقة لا تتسبب بإطلاق غازات ضارة أو معادن سامة في البيئة.

المهمة الأخرى التي يقوم بها المركز الوطني لأبحاث الطاقة والمياه هي تقييم الأثر البيئي وتقييم المخاطر، ويركز هذا الجانب على المنتجين الصناعيين الكبار مثل محطات توليد الطاقة أو المشاريع الضخمة التي يخطط لإنشائها في المنطقة. ويستخدم العلماء لهذا الغرض معدات رصد متطورة تقيس جودة الهواء والنظم البيئية وتقيّم مخاطر التعرض للحقول الكهرومغناطيسية والضوضاء والنشاط الإشعاعي. وتوفر هذه الدراسات تدريباً عملياً ممتازاً للمهندسين المحليين، ويوفر المركز فرصاً لنقل المعرفة وخلق الابتكار وتشجيع المشاركة الوطنية والإقليمية.

التطلع نحو المستقبل

مع استمرار الازدياد في الطلب على الطاقة، تأخذ هيئة مياه وكهرباء أبوظبي على عاتقها دوراً استباقياً في البحوث لتطوير مصادر طاقة جديدة ومتجددة وبديلة. وتحقيقا لهذه الغاية شارك ممثلي الهيئة في مؤتمر ومعرض البيئة 2007 الذي عُقد في أبوظبي في يناير 2007، وجمع عارضين متخصصين وممثلين عن مؤسسات من جميع أنحاء العالم للتركيز على القضايا البيئية. وأعقب ذلك مشاركتنا في القمة العالمية لطاقة المستقبل التي عُقدت في أبوظبي في يناير 2009، وضمّت كبار المسؤولين الحكوميين ورؤساء الشركات العالمية وكبار المستثمرين والعاملين في مجال البيئة، لمناقشة مستقبل قطاع الطاقة.

نأخذ زمام المبادرة

رعت مؤسسة أبوظبي للطاقة أبوظبي عدة مؤتمرات في المنطقة تتعلق بالطاقة والمياه من أبرزها انتخاب الدائرة لتكون الراعي الرئيسي لعدة مؤتمرات نظمتها مجلة ميد، ودعمت مؤتمر ومعرض الكهرباء والماء في عام 2007.

وبالإضافة إلى ذلك تم إطلاق عدد من المبادرات بهدف الحفاظ على الموارد الطبيعية وتقليل التلوث وتعزيز الوعي المجتمعي حول الحفاظ على البيئة وإعادة تدوير النفايات والتخلص منها لحماية الأجيال القادمة. وعلى سبيل المثال عقدنا في شهر أغسطس 2009 حملة أبطال الإمارات حيث قمنا بتوزيع 40,000 مصباح كهربائي صديق للبيئة في أبو ظبي لرفع الوعي بالحاجة إلى الحدّ من استهلاك الطاقة.

أفكار للحفاظ على البيئة في مجموعة شركات مؤسسة أبوظبي للطاقة

شجعت سياسة "الإدارة بلا أوراق" الموظفين في مجموعة الشركات التابعة لمؤسسة أبوظبي للطاقة أبوظبي على وقف استخدام المراسلات الورقية والتحول إلى الإلكترونية، في مسعى للحدّ من هدر الورق. وتواصل الشركة إيجاد السبل التي تقودنا نحو مستقبل أخضر.

*
*
*